steepholm (steepholm) wrote,
steepholm
steepholm

A warning to the curious

Charles Librarian, Four British Fantasists: Point and Subtlety with the Offspring’s Fantasies in respect to Penelope Full of pep, Alan Hide, Neptune Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper (Young people’s Original Co-working& Frightener Clutch, 2006)

Those who self-google may find themselves looking up the wrong end of a babelfish...

(In the original: Charles Butler, Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children’s Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones and Susan Cooper (Children’s Literature Association and Scarecrow Press, 2006).)

This page also contains official descriptions of the various Mythopoeic category awards. I know it’s a cheap laugh, but cheap laughs are what I’m all about – and these do seem particularly ingenious:

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature
The Mythopoeic Vision Diagnosis in preparation for Of age Play is prearranged on the conceiving magnum opus, multi-bags, gold spinsterish-smith confabulation commissariat on behalf of adults public during 2006 that go one better exemplifies the inspire in relation with the Inklings. Sales journal are worthy insofar as dualistic years suitable for sheetwork if not selected seeing that a finalist during the trifling lunation re incorporation. Ledger discounting a swath are unmarried if me say their concede; in other respects, the school edition becomes unwed the academic year its ensuing serial appears.


The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature
The Mythopoeic Shape Presentation so Small fry’s Treasury of information honors bill from younger readers(less Babyish Adults in transit to poem invoice being primary readers), drag the heritage pertinent to The Hobbit mantling The Chronicles relating to Narnia. Rules since inclusiveness are rare the at any rate now considering the Grown Writing jackpot. The rubber touching which bestow a rimming words is superior felicitous in consideration of fancy be there self-assured by use of one accord in reference to the committees.


The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award in Inklings Studies
The Mythopoeic Exhibition Handsel inward Inklings Studies is stipulation so logbook prevalent Tolkien, Lewis, and/impaling Williams that knock off irresistible contributions in consideration of Inklings old-age insurance. As proxy for this subscription, cashbook arch common knowledge during the contingent three years(2004–2006) are suitability, let alone finalists in favor of primeval years.


The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the previous three years are eligible, including finalists for previous years.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies
The Mythopoeic Welfare aid Consolation prize inbound Marchen and Trip Studies is saving clause so as to studious register at incomparable fixed authors ultramodern the Inklings conformity, unicorn so along unspecified pylorus through the genres on cock-and-bull story and dreaming. The apodosis re fittedness is three years, indifferently being the Inklings Studies giving.Law of averages in consideration of A to Z in connection with the nominees.


The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.
Tags: books, my writing
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 4 comments